O Come All Ye Faithless

Christmas is an opportunity for us to remember and celebrate the birth of Christ.
One of the ways we do this is through the singing of Christmas carols and one of the favorites of many people is “O Come All Ye faithful”. I love this hymn dearly, but never so much as this year, I think. As I have pondered this carol at first this Christmas season I considered the opening, “O come all ye faithful, joyful, and triumphant.” That is hardly me, I thought. I can hardly be considered faithful this year. I have doubted God and His will so often that I should change my name to Thomas. I pondered further, and joyful, ha! I have spent more time feeling downtrodden this year than any year I can remember. I don’t even want to think about triumphant! And so, at the beginning of December, a month that should be all about rejoicing, my spirit turned to mourning. My hymn this year has been “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel.” The somber longing seems more fitting.

But as the month went on and I pondered the never ending stream of Scripture this time of year talking about the coming of Christ, as I imagined the Savior of the world born in a manger, it struck me again what I have know all along–God is faithful to us. And so as I sang “O Come All Ye Faithful” I sung the words as I meant them. O come all ye faithless who have been declared faithful by the relentless love of God. Come ye joyless because God those who sow tears will reap songs of joy. Come ye defeated, because He has triumphed over Satan, Sin, and Death and we will stand with Him triumphant in the last days. God does not demand that we be these things to worship Him, worshiping Him creates in us these things. Because of that, let us adore Him.

Leave a Reply

