The Prayer of a Control Freak

Dear Lord,
I am a control freak in a generation of control freak in a nation of control freaks.
I want to control my health
I want to control my money
I want to control my influence
I want to control my life situations

But why, Lord, do I want these things?
I want to control my health for what?
That I might live forever?
You have known all my days before any of them came to pass.
Can I extend my life a single moment by worrying?
I know I must steward my health, but I must never believe I can control it.
I already have the promise of eternal life.

Why do I want to control my money?
So that I will always feel secure?
You own the cattle on a thousand hills.
You watch over princes and paupers alike.
The birds of the field neither sow, nor reap, and yet you feed them.
If I do not feel secure in your hands, how will money ever secure me?
I already have the promise of treasures in heaven.

Why do I want to control my life situations?
So that my life will be easy?
I know that trials are a gift from God to produce endurance.
It is in trials that I am closest to God.
God has promised a hard life for those who follow Him.
If God is a very present help in trouble, don’t I want trouble?
I already have the promise of eternal rest.

I believe that you are better than physical health.
I believe that you are better than all the wealth in this world.
I believe that you are better than I and running my life.
Lord, I believe, only help my unbelief.
Amen

One thought on “The Prayer of a Control Freak

Leave a Reply

