A Poem for Father’s Day

I don’t usually share poems that I write–I usually write them only for my own enjoyment. But this year I wrote a poem for my Dad that I gave him earlier today.  He enjoyed it, so I thought I might share it.

Raised with a Dad
Some boys grow up seeing their father as a superhero
Some boys grow up seeing a villain instead
Some boys grow up with no man in their life
But I was raised with a Dad

All fathers will make a mistake eventually
No man can be perfect till the day he is dead
And for some boys this ruins their picture forever
But I was raised with a Dad

I could have lived my childhood for sports
Hoping that meaning was there to be had
But instead I preferred playing ball in the yard
Because I was raised with a Dad

I could have learned to treat women like objects
Not knowing how to love one and make her life glad
Learning to seek only my own enjoyment
But I was raised with a Dad

I could have seen work as a burden
Something that traps me and drives me mad
I could have learned to be selfish and lazy
But I was raised with a Dad

To many boys God seems unloving and distant
Uninterested in our lives, with nothing to add
Not caring to love, much like their fathers,
But I was raised with a Dad

I could have learned to give up too soon
Or ask for forgiveness too late, instead
The world could seem such a terrifying place
But I was raised with a Dad

I remember one day when I was little
You were bowed on your knees in prayer
You called on the name of God, our Father
I don’t think you even knew I was there
And I realized that day, as I do now
That you were just like me, but older–
A few more furrows on your brow

We’re both surrounded by many foes
But we need not be afraid or sad
We share an ancient, living hope
For with Christ we are raised with a Dad

One thought on “A Poem for Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

