What Every Man Should Read

I am going to try to categorize these by subject and add as I get recommendations.  I am open to suggestions, so if you have a subject or a book, let me know. My current promise is that I will not put a book on here I haven’t read, but I will read a book to put it on the list.

Life/Philosohpy:
Mere Christianity–C.S. Lewis
Man’s Search for Meaning–Victor Frankl
The Listening Heart–A.J. Conyers
The Sickness Unto Death–Søren Kierkegaard

Theology:
Systematic Theology–Wayne Grudem
A Basic Christian Theology–A.J. Conyers
Systematic Theology–Charles Hodge

Knowing God–J.I. Packer
Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God—J.I. Packer
Redemption Accomplished and Applied–John Murray

Fiction:
The Red Badge of Courage–Stephen Crane
The Call of the Wild–Jack London
Animal Farm–George Orwell
1984–George Orwell

Last of the Mohicans–James Fenimore Cooper
The Chronicles of Narnia—C.S. Lewis

 Spiritual Life:
Morning and Evening Devotions–Charles Spurgeon
Taste and See–John Piper
The Screwtape Letters–C.S. Lewis

Marriage:
Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas
Love is a Decision by Gary Smalley
5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman

8 thoughts on “What Every Man Should Read

  1. Oh so many books to add :-).

    Let’s see here:
    Theology: I really like Thomas Oden’s systematic theology better than Grudem’s, have you read that one (well, three volume set) yet?
    Spiritual Life: Screwtape Letters
    Fiction: 1984 by George Orwell, possibly Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper. What is your criteria for a book making on the must-read fiction list?

    Added section:
    Marriage Books!
    -Sacred Marriage
    -Love is a Decision by Gary Smalley
    -5 Love Languages by Cloud and Townsend
    -For Men Only by Shaunti Feldahn (sp?)

    • I think the main criteria for all catagories are: 1) Is it well written, 2) Is it applicable to the “common” man. For fiction I would add that it needs to speak specifically to masculinity–struggles, coming-of-age, etc. I think all of your meet the criteria, with one concern–I don’t know that I am a great judge of how readable a Systematic Theology is, but Oden’s seems denser than Grudem’s. What do you think?

      • Hmmm, okay, maybe not so much on Last of the Mohicans then. That one is just a good book. On the other hand, I actually might think Anna Karenina is worth putting on the fiction list; a lot of wisdom and warnings in that one about issues very pertinent to men. Have you read that one? I know it’s a monster in terms of length, but man is there a lot in there about relationship issues and the mistakes people frequently make.

        Also, as I think about it, I’m not sure where it would fit, but the Great Divorce for its outlook on Heaven and very thought provoking look at human life is probably worth including somewhere too.

        For systematic theologies, at the risk of “blasphemy” I’ll say I’ve always found Grudem a bit dry and dull for my tastes. I think Oden’s is a more pleasant read and for the most part less biased towards any one theological outlook. However, it is substantially longer and doesn’t follow the modern organization scheme of systematic theologies.

        I’m starting to notice a theme with my book recommendations: length. 😛

      • I don’t know, Last of the Mohicans is all about the definition of family and the cultrual dangers of man’s ambition. Seems to fit to me. Have not read Anna Karenina, but I will now. And I don’t know where to put in The Great Divorce… I recommend Grudem because while dry it is not overly complicated.

  2. I would add two books by J I Packer: Knowing God and Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God. For fiction I think The Chronicles of Narnia are a must. (I actually am somewhat cautious about Mere Christianity because, while his writing is superb, Lewis tends to argue his points from human reason not Scripture.) FYI, Five Love Languages was written by Gary Chapman

    • How could I forget Knowing God? I agree with you about Mere Christianity, I had a professor in college who said “How C. S. Lewis can be such a great Christian thinker and such a poor theologian I’ll never know.” Maybe it would work better in Philosophy category?

      • As a devotee of C.S. Lewis, I would point out that he never really claimed to be a theologian – actually saw himself as an educated layperson, and I doubt he would mind being put in the philosopher’s class. In fact, I imagine he would prefer it.

Leave a Reply

