The Sin of Masculism

I have discovered masculism, or masculinism, and must say that I find it abhorrent! It isn’t that nothing masculists say is true, nor that women are perfect, nor that feminists get it right, but that masculinism gives in to the greatest sin of men–passing the blame. Here is a list of the biggest problems I have with masculinism. (this post was written partially in response to this blog)

5. Masculinism gives in to Adam’s sin. It has been clear since the Garden that men love to pass off the blame for their wrong doing. What I keep reading over and over again by secular and Christians alike on this topic is “men are not perfect, but…” But what? When Adam tries to defend himself in the Garden his tactic is not to say he did nothing wrong, it is to shift the blame for what he did to his wife. This is so common that it is often ignored. The whole point of masculinism is to tell people to stop blaming men. The fact is, men are not guilty of singlehandedly destroying our culture, but the are culpable because its their job to stop the destruction of our culture.

4. Masculinism often claims it wants “equality”. What they really mean is sameness. The same penalties, roles, rights, etc. for men and women. The fact is though, Christians can’t want that and follow Scripture which clearly states that men and women are different. Eph. 5, Col. 3, Titus 2, 1 Pet. 3.

3. Masculinism lacks challenge. Men should be always challenging themselves to be greater examples of Christ’s love. If Christ “made Himself nothing” and wants us to “look not only to our own interests, but also the interests of others” because we “consider others better than ourselves”, then the goal should be to always look first and foremost at our own sin, and as men to lead by example. I am sure that if there were perfect men out there, there would be perfect women lining up to marry them.

2. Masculinism denies the facts. Masculinism wants to say that women are just as guilty as men for social and criminal wrongs. Statistics can be misleading, but there are significantly more women in church than men. Most sexual and violent crimes are committed by men. More men commit adultery than women. There are more absentee fathers than there are absentee mothers. And the sad facts go on. Men have been irresponsible. I am not defending women–that’s a different post–but I am berating men for their clear neglect of moral and religious devotion.

1. Masculinism has nothing masculine about it. Masculinity is defined in Scripture as the near opposite of everything masculinism stands for. Scripture says give up your desires and serve God’s purpose, give up your pride and serve humbly, give up your rights and follow the will of God. Do this, and you shall be free in Christ’s version of manhood. The manhood of Christ is defined not by self-preservation, but sacrifice. For every man sacrifice is the key to triumph.

10 thoughts on “The Sin of Masculism

  1. Thank you for your kind words gortexgrrl. Encouragment is always nice to recieve.Anakin-I have responded in your comments but I am also posting my comments here. I appreciate your response.

  2. Anakin-First of all, attending church may not be a sign of spiritual depth, but there are plenty of other venues in which women can be social. Why do they choose church? I agree that churches reach women much better than they do men, I just disagree with your view of what causes that failure. And I am willing to bet that with that many women in church, enough of them have spiritual depth to cover the godly men who are actually seeking marriage.Joel Osteen draws a crowd because he tells people what they want to hear, someone who draws people telling them what they don't want to hear? That's a bit unusual I would say.I am not familiar with Debbie Maken, but Albert Mohler is in general a very gracious person. The fact that he comes down hard on young men seems to me a witness to the fact that young men need to be taught discipline by older men. 1 Peter 5:5And as far as the prophets, apostles, and Christ were frustrated I have 2 points. The first is that they were acting on direct revelation from God-which you are not. And secondly, while I would agree that they burned with righteous anger-which was from God-they were not frustrated and did not lash out.Amir-I appreciate you bringing up a very good point. I have no doubt Mohler is uninvolved in "singles ministry" at his church. And I agree, godly men in singles ministries are not likely to find the kind of women that are marriage material. Godly women have a natural (and good) tendency to latch onto older women to learn from and help them grow. Young men are wise to do the same. Godly young men need to get out of singles ministries and join churches with solid community across the age barrier. That is where relationships are formed. And as for knowing God fearing women who are looking for a godly man, I know a ton of them and I am meeting more everyday. What I don't have is a lot of godly men to send their way. A man who is earnestly looking for a wife that meets God's approval is seeking a good thing (Prov. 18.22). And we know that when we seek to obey God we are blessed. Not every man will find a wife, atleast not quickly, but that doesn't mean that they can blame others. Should church leaders talk about this more? Yes. Are women admonished to seek proper roles outside of a (comparatively)few solid churches? Not really. Are men treated unfairly in the culture at large? Often yes. Does that get men off the hook for their failures, general lack of presence in culture, church, family, etc? Absolutely not!Anakin-I am not boasting, though I admit that it does sound that way, I was trying to be encouraging that to those who are earnestly looking in the right places, God does keep his promises and there are godly women to be found.

  3. Hi Josh,I have a response for your major post above. I am contemplating whether or not to post it though. For your immediate comments, here are my observations.First of all, attending church may not be a sign of spiritual depth, but there are plenty of other venues in which women can be social. Why do they choose church?Josh, we could easily ask why worldy, backsliding Christians and hypocrites chose church. Not that the women are necessarily these things, but I stand by my assertion that church attendance is meaningless in and of itself. We could easily ask why the Jews thought they could go on sacrificing to God when their hearts were not right before him.I agree that churches reach women much better than they do men, I just disagree with your view of what causes that failure. And I am willing to bet that with that many women in church, enough of them have spiritual depth to cover the godly men who are actually seeking marriage.We must tease apart this claim. How many women are attending theologically conservative churches as opposed to seek-sensitive Christianity lite churches? How many women are actually spiritual as opposed to just giving all the right answers on creeds and Saturday night type of sins? How many women, though they love Jesus, still have their preferences and are shaped by the surrounding culture's ideas about masculinity–thus making Christian men near them invisible? There's an saying among the male bloggers I know, Josh, that 80% of the women go after 20% of the men. Put another way, people have observed that women save themselves for the best or don't choose anything at all. They are less likely to settle than men. Finally, what do you do with this data which contradicts your claims?Joel Osteen draws a crowd because he tells people what they want to hear, someone who draws people telling them what they don't want to hear? That's a bit unusual I would say.We have this message: If you have sexual urges, God wants you to be married. I dunno. It sounds like the matrimonial equivalent of God wants you to be prosperous. I think there are plenty of people who would like to hear that God commands them to have sex.The fact that he [Albert Mohler] comes down hard on young men seems to me a witness to the fact that young men need to be taught discipline by older men.To date, Albert Mohler has yet to answer his critics on his misuse of scriptures to mandate marriage for most single people. I understand that you respect him, but I am not alone in my censure of him. See otrmin.wordpress.com and puritancalvinist.blogspot.com (search Albert Mohler, also search for Voddie Baucham and Doug Wilson). Brazos Press (an imprint of Baker) has recently published a book ("Singled Out: Why Celibacy Must Be Reinvented in Today's Church") that takes a strong stance specifically against Mohler, Maken, and others. I agree with the two authors that the Evangelical church is exulting marriage too much and propagating some very harmful messages.. And secondly, while I would agree that they burned with righteous anger-which was from God-they were not frustrated and did not lash out.They most certianly did lash out verbally, Josh. Do you remember some of the names they called their opponents? I am not saying that I can necessarily do the same thing, but Titus 1:13 talks about rebuking "sharply". There's a time and place for different approaches to different sinners (Jude 1:23). I am going to take a different approach with some struggling with a specific sin and who is sorrowful than I am with people who are arrogant, dismissive, and callous towards the welfare of men.You say you are not boasting. Very well, then. I will take your word for it. I ask this though, for the sake of argument: Why is it a crime for men to put off marriage? Who says they need to get married?

  4. I do not have internet at home right now, so I apologize for taking so long to return your comment. Do please feel free to post your response. I can hardly claim to always be right, but I am not offended easily either. I do appreciate the time you are taking to discuss this issue, as I too feel it is important to hash out–even if we never agree.

  5. "First of all, attending church may not be a sign of spiritual depth, but there are plenty of other venues in which women can be social. Why do they choose church?Josh, we could easily ask why worldy, backsliding Christians and hypocrites chose church. Not that the women are necessarily these things, but I stand by my assertion that church attendance is meaningless in and of itself. We could easily ask why the Jews thought they could go on sacrificing to God when their hearts were not right before him."I'm not sure what Anakin's saying here, that there's a greater proportion of church attending women who are hypocrites than men? If there are more women at church than men, then there's more women at church than men in every category of spiritual depth. That's hardly "meaningless" — it means a shortage of men for women at every station of spiritual maturity.As for Boundless' "Plenty of Men to Go Around" article, I ran that by Mark Regnerus in a personal email communication with him, and he was skeptical, for reasons I won't go into. He stands by his data that showed an overwhelming imbalance of young single women to men, data he gleaned from the General Social Survey.

  6. I think Anakin may be arguing against himself here. If everything he has said is to be believed then while there are more men in churches than women in this particular group, church attendence is meaningless as a measure of spiritual maturity, so he has still not shown any data to make me believe that there are more godly men than women in church. Further, whether the statistics show a lack of young, single, never married men in church or not, statistics also show that 70% of boys that grow up in church leave in high school or college. This means that, if Anakin's statistics are to be believed then these men are mostly new believers who have not had time to mature in their faith, much less truly grasp biblical manhood. The women in this same category are more likely to have grown up in the church and are more likely to be spiritually mature. Note: I said more likely, not guaranteed.What really gets me, though, is that he still has not given any true evidence that men are showing true biblical masculinity. I say that we forget about comparisons right now and talk about what men are actually exhibiting in their daily lives to debunk what men like Al Mohler are saying.

  7. Women are more communal in nature and I think that explains the high numbers in church. Many of things present in our feminized education system are also present in our feminized churches (the emotionalism, the anti-intellectual external conformity, etc.). Read David Murrow and Paul Coughlin for more on why there aren't many men in church. I don't agree with everything they say, but the standard line that men are just bad boys that need to grow up and behave is fundamentally sanctimonious and indicative of a shallow theology which is at odds with a far more realistic view of human nature (men and women) in the Word of God. If we keep bashing men from the pulpits while giving women the XX Chromosome Pass, the ratios are going to get worse. Indeed, many pastors remind me of the saying: "The beatings will continue until moral improves!!!!" Anyway, you didn't tell me how many women leave church, Josh. And it wouldn't matter anyway–just as the number of women vs. men in the library profession doesn't necessarily point to the number of men not liking to read."What really gets me, though, is that he still has not given any true evidence that men are showing true biblical masculinity."What do you mean Josh? The obligatory wife, house and kiddies? Such has nothing to do with Biblical Manhood. God looks at a man's character, not his trophy wife and his trophy kids. Needless to say, some pundits have perverted the Gospel by making an idol out of marriage and family.

Leave a Reply

